My first egg muffin

Last night, I made egg muffins for the first time ever. In fact, I had never even heard of them until recently (thanks, Pinterest and Facebook!).

My egg muffins were a mixture of two recipes. The first, for clean eaters. The other, from a healthy-eating blog. I took my favorite parts of each recipe, then combined them.

Here’s what I came up with:

Ingredients:

  • 12-muffin tin
  • spray-on oil (I used olive oil in my Misto)
  • 12 eggs
  • approx. 2 cups shredded veggies of your choice (I used red & green bell peppers, zucchini and green onion)
  • approx. 1/4 cup shredded cheese (I used a pre-packaged Fiesta Blend, since I already had it in my fridge)
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
(I never actually measured veggies and cheese, so those are just guesses–but probably pretty darn close!)
How we do:  Preheat oven to 375. (While the oven preheated, I shredded my veggies in a food processor.) Combine eggs with basil, oregano and cheese in a bowl. Stir until thoroughly combined. Coat muffin tin with spray-on oil to prevent sticking. Fill each muffin tin about 2/3 full with veggies. Pour in egg mixture, filling each tin the rest of the way. Bake for 30 minutes or until muffins have risen and are slightly browned.

Store/reheat:  To store the muffins, I used six sandwich bags. I labeled each bag with the contents, heating directions and date cooked (so I’ll know how quickly I should eat them… though I doubt that will be a problem). Then, once the muffins had cooled to room temperature, I put two muffins inside each bag. To reheat, simply open the open a bag, pop it in the microwave and heat for 20-30 seconds. (NOTE: I haven’t tried this yet, but it seemed like a good idea when I read it as part of the healthy-eating recipe.)

Lessons Learned: Although the muffins look and smell delicious, I plan to make a few changes next time I cook them. The first (and most important) change will be to use cupcake papers. I sprayed my muffin tin with a fierceness, but I still lost the bottoms of my muffins to the pan (which always happens to me, so I don’t know why I expected any different last night). I’d also like to add a few things, like meat substitute or turkey sausage for more substance as well as more veggies (I really wanted mushrooms, but I just didn’t have them; I thought about tomatoes but decided they might be too juicy;  and I considered carrots but was unsure of how that might taste). I’d also like to make plain egg-and-cheese muffins for Josh, since he’s not big on mixing eggs with vegetables.

I haven’t had the chance to eat them yet (I was sick this morning and wanted to keep breakfast super-light), but I’ll likely update with more lessons once I taste them.

What do you think? Have you made egg muffins before? I’d love to hear your ideas, tips and tricks!

2 responses to “My first egg muffin

  1. I think this is a smashing idea! I like that you bagged for freezing with instructions and dated them. Maybe one day I’ll start cooking again and try this out. Sure does look appetizing to me. I’m glad you are adventurous in the kitchen and even more glad that you don’t measure everything exact like someone near and dear to us both. I guesstimate everything! 🙂

    • Oh, gosh, I CAN’T measure anything. If I did it’d have to be exact, and everyone in the apartment would starve and/or be upset with me. Which is why I don’t bake (for the most part).

Let's discuss!