My love affair with Pinterest (and its gift of Sangrias)

I have rekindled my love affair with Pinterest. I am obsessed.

I spend hours pinning things and rearranging and making new boards and rearranging some more. I am in love.

So here’s the thing: I created a board for Cinco de Mayo.

I love celebrating Cinco de Mayo. I realize I actually have no reason to celebrate this holiday, but I’ll take any opportunity I can to justify drinking a few margaritas.

So in my excitement over Cinco de Mayo, I have pinned 40 different recipes. There are dips. There are tacos. There are burritos. There are margaritas. There are sangrias.

In fact, I plan to put this board to use in a few weeks when the roommates and I have an early Cinco de Mayo celebration. There will be plenty of Mexico-inspired dishes and, of course, plenty of drinks.

As an early celebration/test of recipes I tried the Red Sangria Recipe I found on Taste of Home’s website. And oh. my. goodness. It was delightful. It wasn’t too sweet and didn’t take away from the wine, which I loved (because that wine was delicious). I also loved the bits of real fruit, frozen to serve as ice. When they defrosted, they soaked up the drink and took on the taste of sangria. It was really interesting to be able to eat my drink.

My friend wasn’t a fan of the bitterness, so she tweaked her glass with more orange juice and soda and added fresh strawberries. I think next I make this for other people, I’ll do the same. Most people prefer sweet sangrias, right?

Click on the recipe, try it and let me know what you think! Don’t forget to leave your tips for next time in the comments.

Let's discuss!

