On parties, school and pizza

My life has been super busy the past few weeks. Both of my parents turned 50 within days of each other, school seems to have amped up, and I’ve been working toward internships. Unfortunately, that doesn’t leave much room for my blog. The good news is that I have lots to talk (er–write) about.

The Big 5-0:

Both of my parents are now officially over the hill. My mom actually called people bragging about how she is “officially old.” It was great. My dad kept telling my sister and me that we didn’t have to remind him that it was his 50th birthday. Of course, we did. Their birthdays are a little more than a week apart. Their parties were exactly a week apart. You can imagine the chaos. My sister planned most of both (because every party I have ever planned has failed; obviously party planning is not for me). My mom’s party was a surprise, so my job was to distract her, which went really well. She had no idea that we were going to her birthday party until we walked into a room with nearly 50 of her friends and family members. She was in shock for hours. Oh, and did I mention her picture was on the cake. Yeah. It was awesome.

A decoration at Mom’s party hung where everyone could see it.

My dad knew about his party. My sister and I simply put all the little details in place (again, most of the planning was thanks to my talented sister). My job this time was to pick up food and some of the decorations. Since my dad is a huge football fan, we set up a tailgate-style party on our patio. We had streamers and football paraphernalia. It looked like an actual tailgate party.

This was our tailgate feast. The strawberries, champagne & shrimp cocktail were a delicious joke.

While both of these parties were amazing (seriously, I could go on and on about them), they were also exhausting. I am so partied out now.

School Hype:

School is in high gear for me. Part of the reason is because we’re in the second half of the semester. Things tend to get more fast-paced on campus as we near finals. But it’s about to get even faster because I’ll be taking an extra class next semester. I found out that if I do so, I can graduate a semester early. That is both exciting and terrifying. That means I have to work extra-hard for the internship(s) I want/need. So, with that said, I’ll try to get back in the habit of weekly posts.However, this may turn into a once-a-month blog (though I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I won’t have to resort to that).

Side Notes:

Remember that list of goals I made last month? Yeah… not going so well. Particularly getting back into the kitchen. Sometimes, I simply don’t have the time to prepare a full meal. But when I do have time, I want my roommates to be able to enjoy what I cook. Our conflicting schedules make it hard to eat together and easy to find a lack of motivation to cook. But tonight, my best friend and I cooked together (just like good ol’ times). On the menu: pizza! She made the sauce while I chopped meat and veggies. We made two pizzas. One was a meatless Mediterranean pizza, and the other was a meaty pizza. The Mediterranean pizza–which the bestie and I split–had the homemade sauce on a store-bought pizza crust (every time we try to make the crust, it turns out too thick) with mozzarella and feta cheeses, roma tomatoes, kalamata olives, peperocini peppers, and sauteed onions.

I had to eat the Mediterranean pizza with a fork.

The meaty pizza had the homemade sauce on a crust just like the other pizza, covered in mozzarella, then topped with turkey pepperoni, Canadian bacon and grilled chicken. This pizza was for my boyfriend and my sister, who seem to be mentally allergic to most vegetables. I was unable to get a picture of their plates for fear of having my had bitten off.

Anyway, that’s kind of what’s been going on with me since I kind of fell off the planet (or the blogosphere or whatever). It seriously has been an interesting few weeks.

Tell me about any interesting parties or delicious foods you’ve prepared recently!

Let's discuss!