{infatuation friday}

06.21.2013

  1. A Beautiful MessA Beautiful Mess. This is a photo-editing app created by Elsie and Emma, the makers of the A Beautiful Mess blog (which, if you follow me on Pinterest, you probably know I adore). The app allows you to crop and filter your photos, as well as add cute borders, doodles, text and more. The basic app comes pre-loaded with six different filters, fourteen border options, four font types, more than 20 doodles and 12 pre-written phrases. But if that’s not enough, plenty of additional options are available as in-app purchases. This app is available for iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. $0.99

  2. Hannibal. This new NBC series has become a regular weekend night routine for Josh and me. (We have the series set to record every Thursday night.) Though I never saw any of the Hannibal movies and don’t get all the references, I love the show. The first season finale was yesterday, so if you didn’t catch the show, keep an eye on Netflix (or Hulu or Amazon prime or whatever else you might watch). Word of warning: Don’t watch it while you’re eating or if you’re easily grossed out.

  3. Supernatural. I sat down with Josh when he was halfway through the second episode of season one of Supernatural. We’ve been hooked since (though, Josh has probably actually been hooked since episode one). We watch reruns on Netflix almost every night (I limit it to one episode because I get awful, vivid dreams about the supernatural without the show’s help) and finished season two earlier this week. So. Intense.

  4. Arrested Development. This is another show Josh and I have started watching together. I think we’re in season two now (it’s so hard to keep up when we watch on the Roku), and still loving it. I laugh the hardest at Josh’s reactions to the show (particularly his reactions to Jason Bateman’s facial expressions). Just a few days ago, he laughed so hard at one part of a scene, that he missed the entire next scene. So, yeah, we’re kind of loving this show.

  5. VibramVibram. I bought my first pair of Vibram Five Finger shoes a couple of months ago, and I am in love. They are super comfy (like, barefoot comfy) and don’t take long to get used to at all. They’ve become my go-to shoe (usually, they beat out flip-flops) this summer. The only downside is that, since I don’t wear socks with them, they have started to stink. Josh has been having this problem too (on a worse level, since he’s had his Vibrams longer), so we’re going to test out some tricks I found to de-funk our shoes.

  6. Happier. The idea behind Happier is that writing down at least three positive thoughts per day will make you feel happier. Makes sense, since it forces you to think happy thoughts in those few moments. You can also add photos to your happy moments, “smile” at others’ happy moments (by clicking a smiley face button–the equivalent of a Facebook like) or literally smile at others’ happy moments via photo.  You can use Happier either through a browser or by downloading the app. The app is available for the iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad. FREE

  7. The Matrix. I don’t watch a lot of movies. Josh is a huge movie buff, so when we started dating, it took him awhile to get used to my lack of movie knowledge. (In fact, I had never seen Titanic until I watched it in IMAX 3D last April.) Now, he gets to choose a good portion of the movies we watch (otherwise it’d be a lot of Princess Bride, Corpse Bride and Seinfeld reruns–I’m not very movie-venturous). That also means that for the first time in my life, I’ve watched the first two Matrix movies. I finally understand all the references from the past decade!

  8. Draw Something 2Draw Something 2. This time last year, I was completely addicted to Draw Something but was forced to quit playing when the majority of my friends lost interest. Now, I’ve picked up the drawing game again, but this time it’s improved. With Draw Something 2, I’m not completely dependent upon other friends to play the game, though it’s nice to get the chance to play the game with people I know and earn in-game currency (I totally recommend linking to Facebook for this purpose). The new version offers daily draws and daily guesses, giving players the opportunity to earn increasing amount of coins and stars each day. They can use the coins and stars to purchase more colors or new drawing tools, which the new version features more of. Draw Something 2 also includes the addition of a chat feature, which allows users to chat with one another in game. Draw Something 2 is offered as a free app (with ads, of course) or as a paid app (with less ads, I’m guessing) and is available for Android devices as well as for the iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. FREE – $2.99

  9. Facebook Hashtags. Facebook announced last week that it would start supporting hashtags this month. The new feature won’t be fully functional for the next few weeks, but I can assure you that plenty of people will have already begun #hashtagging #every #word #they #post. (I’m looking at you, Instagram.)

  10. Instagram Video. In other tech news, Instagram introduced video to the popular photo-editing and -sharing app this week. I’m still trying to decide how I feel about the new feature, especially since the video I recorded spent an hour processing before I gave up and closed the app. Also, there’s already Vine.

Have any ideas for this (usually) weekly post? Send them to me via email or Facebook. Don’t forget to follow me around the web for updates you won’t see here!

One response to “{infatuation friday}

  1. great blog and post!

    be sure to check me out @helloscarlettblog.com!

    see you around, fellow wordpress-er. 🙂

    ~ e ~

Let's discuss!

