Have a grilled cheese

20130412-163324.jpg

Happy National Grilled Cheese Day!

I absolutely love that this is a national holiday. A grilled cheese sandwich is my second favorite comfort food, right behind macaroni and cheese. (Put them together, and I am in heaven–until I remember my mild lactose intolerance. Curse you, enzymes…)

If you’re just now discovering that today is the day to eat a grilled cheese, don’t you worry. It’s not too late to celebrate!

You can…

Make your own:

Buy a cheesy sandwich:

Go lactose-free:

If you’re vegan, lactose-intolerant or just don’t eat dairy products, you can still celebrate, thanks to options like rice or veggie cheese. (I suggest the veggie slices. Rice cheese slices taste funny, and the shredded cheese of either variety has a weird consistency.) And I hear some restaurants offer lactose-free options as well, though you’ll have to do your research on those; I have yet to find one.

If you have a good grilled cheese recipe or know of a great place to buy a grilled cheese, I’d love for you to share in the comments.

Now, go grab two pieces of bread and some cheese and get to grilling.

Let's discuss!

