Pin Perfect: HTP’s Two-Ingredient Sugar Face Scrub

sugarscrub_lead

I don’t usually care about beauty products. I mean, I like how I look when I throw on some makeup, but I don’t go crazy over the newest eyeliner or anything like that. (Heck, I don’t even wear makeup on a daily basis.) But when the dry winter air left my face flaky for more than a week with no relief from my moisturizer, I knew I had to do something. Then I remembered pinning this DIY facial scrub from Healthy Tipping Point.

It’s so simple! Just combine two ingredients–oil and sugar–and BOOM you’ve got yourself a super-soft face. (Well, the original recipe suggests adding a bit of vanilla and cinnamon for smell-goods, so I tried that too, after first trying it with just the two main ingredients.)

pinCaitlin of HTP says she uses coconut oil, which leaves her face smelling coconutty when she goes to bed (she said she sometimes even eats some of the yummy scrub).

Unfortunately, I don’t have coconut oil. But I do have EVOO. And I’m telling you, it works wonders. After I used it, my face felt incredibly soft without a heavy oiliness. Even the next day, my face continued to experience relief from the dry, itchy air. And I never felt greasy. The weirdest (coolest) part was that my face actually felt less oily than usual. I have combination skin, so when my face is dry, I still have oily spots in my T-zone (forehead, nose, chin).
This scrub, however, left my skin soft, yet oil-free.

I’ve only ever read about people using coconut oil and olive oil on their skin, so I’m not sure whether canola or vegetable oil would work for this. I have a feeling it would leave a greasy residue, but I really don’t know. If you don’t have coconut or olive oil, do your research before whipping up a facial scrub with a lower-quality oil.

Here’s how I made mine:

instagramOlive Oil Facial Scrub

Active time: About 2 minutes
Total Time: Approximately 2 minutes
Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp. Extra-Virgin Olive Oil
  • 6 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • ¼ tsp. vanilla extract
  • a few pinches of ground cinnamon
  • 1 small canning jar (make sure the mouth is wide enough to fit your hand in)

What to do:

Heat the olive oil in a small glass jar or bowl for 20 seconds. Add the sugar, vanilla and cinnamon to the olive oil and stir. Move mixture to a resealable container for storage (I used small glass canning jar).

To use: Make sure the scrub isn’t too hot (it should be at room temperature). Using your fingertips, scoop the scrub from the jar, then apply the scrub to your face. Leave the scrub on your face for about 10 minutes, then rinse.

Store the scrub in the fridge. If the oil and sugar separate, or if the mixture hardens, try stirring it. If that doesn’t work, simply reheat it in 10- to 20-second increments, then stir. Let it cool to room temperature before use.

instagramYou can always make a larger batch, which I definitely recommend if you plan to use this as a body scrub too. (I haven’t tried it yet, but I plan to. I think it would feel so nice on my legs!) The most important thing is to keep the oil-to-sugar ratio 1:3. The other stuff–vanilla and cinnamon–isn’t too important; they aren’t even necessary, so you don’t have to worry about them if you don’t want to. You can also experiment with other oils and spices. Lavender, chamomile, lime, whatever else you can think of–and bonus points if the stuff is especially good for your skin (I read somewhere that lavender is).

If you try other scent variations, I’d love for you to share them in the comments!

(This recipe is strongly based on HTP’s Two-Ingredient Sugar Face Scrub.)

One response to “Pin Perfect: HTP’s Two-Ingredient Sugar Face Scrub

  1. Reblogged this on Bare Beauty and commented:
    Im a big fan of home made scrubs and face masks,I’ve u sed this scrub many times before and I simply love it ♥

Let's discuss!

