Avocado & salmon snacks

4by6

Y’all, last night I had a food epiphany–a foodpiphany. (Just wait–it’ll catch on.)

I got home from work and was pretty hungry, but I still had a few hours until I was supposed to meet Josh for dinner. I’m lame and haven’t fixed any of the snacks I planned for the week, and I didn’t want an apple, so I started searching the pantry and the fridge.

I was about to settle for a handful of Truscuits when I realized I had smoked salmon. However, smoked salmon alone on a Triscuit doesn’t really work out so well–the Triscuit takes away from the flavor of the smoked salmon.

But then, as I was reaching into the fridge for my smoked salmon, I saw it–Holy Guacamole. And that was when the foodpiphany happened. Triscuit, guacamole and smoked salmon, together. And, I’ll tell you what, that was one of the best snacks I ever made.

114795667af711e2baac22000a1fbda6_7Avocado & salmon snacks

Active time: About 5 minutes
Total Time: Approximately 5 minutes
Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 6 Triscuit crackers (or one serving of any other whole grain cracker)
  • 2 Tbsp. Avocado (pitted, peeled and mashed) or guacamole (I used Holy Guacamole, since it happened to be in my fridge)
  • About 3 oz. Smoked salmon (I used 1/3 of the package

What to do:

Place crackers on a plate. Use a knife or spoon to spread about 1/3 tablespoon of avocado (or 1/6 of the prepared avocado) onto each cracker. Top each avocado/cracker combo with .5 ounces of smoked salmon (or 1/6 of the prepared smoked salmon).

Enjoy!

(Measurements are based on nutritional facts and what is deemed to be one serving of each item.)

Let's discuss!

