Chicken and Corn Chili

chicken and corn chiliLast night was supposed to be Josh’s night to cook, but I ended up in the kitchen anyway. Without him. Because, despite his efforts to help, I pretty much told him he was doing it wrong before I took over. Of course, this was after my failure to explain, like a normal human would, what needs to go in the chili. “Oh, I just grab whatever from the cabinets! Why don’t you understand?”

spice mixI tried using a similar method to explain to him how to pay Sudoku. “Oh the numbers have to line up and not be the same and… yeah. That’s about it.”

I’d make a horrible teacher.

He was a good sport, though. He didn’t even laugh at me for taking pictures of everything as I cooked (I think me taking pictures of every meal has him immune to me whipping out the camera by now), and he even helped me with some of the photos. I think he loves me.

brushOr maybe he was just happy that I didn’t throw a tantrum in the kitchen. (Not like that ever happens or anything.)

I may have thrown some chili though. On the counters,on my clothes, on the floor… I pretty much forgot how to stir anything last night.

Regardless, this recipe is super simple, and it gave me time for yoga while it simmered. So throw everything together in a pot, stain-treat your clothes and hit the yoga mat.

Dinner will be ready in less than an hour.

Chicken and Corn Chili

chicken and corn chiliActive time: About 10 minutes
Total Time: Approximately 50 minutes
Serves: 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken tenderloins, or 1-2 chicken breast(s)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 C chopped onion
  • 1 T olive oil, divided
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 C frozen whole kernel corn
  • 2 cans (15.5 oz. each) low-sodium dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) low-sodium petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (15 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1 can (6 oz.) tomato paste
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 pinch sugar
  • Optional: Greek yogurt, cheddar cheese, jalapenos (diced or sliced)
    (if using low-sodium kidney beans, add 1/4 tsp. salt)

What to do:

Photo Feb 05, 7 58 44 PMHeat the oven to 375 degrees F. While the oven is preheating, mix chili powder, onion powder and garlic powder in a small bowl.

Lay chicken on a cookie sheet (I covered my cookie sheet with aluminum foil for easy clean-up). Using 1/2 tablespoon of your olive oil, brush one side of each chicken tender with olive oil,  then sprinkle a small pinch of your spice mix over the chicken; use tongs to turn the chicken over, then repeat to the bare side. Set aside the remaining spice mix–you’ll use it later.

Photo Feb 05, 8 28 15 PMOnce oven is ready, bake the chicken for 15-20 minutes, or until done. Move chicken to a plate, and shred chicken using two forks; set aside.

In a medium or large pot, heat second 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and cook until fragrant, about 3 minutes, stirring frequently; add garlic and cook, stirring frequently, for another minute or so.

Add chicken, tomato sauce, tomato paste, kidney beans, diced tomatoes (liquids and all), corn, crushed red pepper, sugar and remaining spice mix. (If you’re adding salt, add it here.) Stir until well-combined. Add bay leaf. Stir again.

chicken corn chili cookTurn heat to low. Let simmer, uncovered, for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

When it has finished simmering, stir and taste. Add more salt, chili powder, garlic powder or onion powder as needed.

Serve and top with some Greek yogurt, cheese, jalapenos and whatever other extras you want.

Enjoy!

Let's discuss!

