Noms 01.28.2013

lemony tuna and olive oil pastaJosh and I are getting better at this meal planning business.

I scouted for good recipes throughout the week, and we narrowed the list down to six for the next two weeks. I spent a good hour after work on Friday making a list, and when we got to the store, we mostly stuck to it. (We never remember to include everything we need when we make the list. I’d say the three or four not-listed items weren’t so bad.)

As we went through the store, I checked off the items on the list and made a note of the price–and we stayed under budget!

So, assuming I didn’t forget anything, I’d say this week’s meal planning/shopping was a success.

The Meals:

The Snacks:

A few notes on meals from the last two weeks:

  • skillet gnocchiWe modified the Baked BBQ Chicken Tenders and instead made Baked Chicken Tenders (no BBQ). I’d like to know how the BBQ version tastes, but I’m too impatient to wait for the chicken to marinade. So it goes, right? But I definitely recommend this. Josh and I loved it, and we’ll probably make it again soon.
  • I kiiiinda liked the Skillet Gnocchi, but I doubt I’ll make it again. Josh didn’t like it, so I was left eating leftovers for several days before I gave the last few servings to Ashley and Hilary. I swear I thought I would turn into gnocchi last week.
  • The salt trick worked! (Just don’t forget about your apples and leave them in your fridge for a week. Unless your salt has magical, forever-preserving powers. Mine didn’t.)
  • Peanut Butter-Yogurt Dip = WIN. Make it.

The Workouts: Seriously, one of these days I’ll remember to work out during the week. So far, my only success has been on weekends. Shameful. (Fun fact: When I was in college, I counted my daily run to class as my workout–which I think was legit, since I was late to everything.)

As always, check out Instagram for photos of the recipes I make and random angles of my yoga mat.

5 responses to “Noms 01.28.2013

  1. This is a great way to go. My wife and I feed our family of 5 on $120 a week using meal plans. Looks like you two made some tasty choices this week.

    • $120 a week for 5 people?!?! That’s awesome. Any pointers?

      • Keep in mind this is an average. One big thing is that we make as much of our own food as possible. That usually means all main courses are made from scratch. We do make some staple that help cut costs such as baked goods (bread, muffins, pitas, etc.). We also split our shopping and buy our produce at our local Co-op, and canned goods, pantry items at a cheaper grocery store. In the summer we save the most because we buy everything local at the farmers market. We have a county farmers market in Madison and it allows us to buy everything from grains and produce to meats and cheeses. Last summer we purchased all of our groceries each week at the Farmers market and usually only ran us $80, we would sometimes get pantry items and that would add about $20 on to that.

  2. Glad you liked the crepe idea, they’ve become a favorite at our house! Another good filling we’ve found is caramelized onion, mushrooms, and blue cheese.

    thanks for the link!

Let's discuss!

