Noms

yogamatThis holiday season–though it’s already over–has me feeling very… off. Over the past few weeks, I didn’t pay much mind to what I was eating (Sweets for lunch? Sure!) nor did I do much to get moving. So now, I just feel blah.

Actually, I think this gross feeling has been a long time coming. Over the past few months, everything has been not quite normal. My eating habits constantly change, my sleep pattern is all kinds of messed up and I spend a lot more time curled up on the couch (or sitting at a desk) than I do actually moving. It’s really no wonder why I feel so terrible.

Since I decided to make “dedicate” my word of the year, I’ve been thinking a lot about what that means. Sure, I want to dedicate myself to writing more and accomplishing more in general, but I also want to make sure I’m taking care of myself. Yesterday, I read Caitlin of HTP’s resolution was pretty much to do nothing. She plans to slow down and enjoy time with her family, to read a good book, to relax in a bubble bath, to get a solid night of sleep–and as I read it, I kind of felt jealous. I feel like I have to try to do more and more and more every day, and I often wonder when that will end (probably never).

mms_pictureSo, like I mentioned, I’ve been wondering what “dedicate” can really mean for me and how it can make me a better person. Yeah, I’ll definitely dedicate more time to writing and job-hunting and other important things. But I also think “dedicate” can mean–NEEDS to mean–that I’m dedicating more time to me.

Of course, that means I need to focus on the simple things: go to bed at a decent hour (I’m aiming for 11 p.m. at the latest), eat well-balanced meals and get moving. But I’m also thinking it probably means less T.V. time (I’ve been noticing I have strange dreams if I watch a movie or show just before bed) and more saying “no” when know that’s what I need to do.

In order to live healthfully, I think I’ll have to take some time each week to plan (Rachel Wilkerson does this, and it seems to help her stay on track). Josh and I already have meal planning down, so I’d like to tackle meal prepping next (an idea I snagged from He and She Eat Clean). I doubt I’ll prep everything at once, but the more I do when I have time, the more likely I am to want to eat a meal at home (and the less likely I am to want to eat out or just stuff my face with cookies). I also want to start planning an exercise routine (what to do and when I’ll do it) to help keep me moving.

Meals:

Workout:

For Christmas, Hilary gave me an extra-thick yoga mat and Josh gave me a 3-part yoga DVD. I’ll use those for the rest of the week and plan further this weekend.

What do you do to keep yourself feeling happy and healthy?

Let's discuss!

