Top 10 (not scary) Halloween movies

I don’t watch scary movies. Like, ever. I just can’t. I tried watching 30 Days of Night with Josh a few weeks ago and–not even lying here–ended up in tears. Scary movies shake me to the core. A major part of that is that I go definitely go above and beyond with allowing a suspension of disbelief (I still cry over Mufasa’s death and always get mad at the moronic kids in movies who split up in the obviously-haunted houses; for months after watching I Am Legend, I half-expected mutants to come running after me at night).

But most of the problem I trace back to my childhood. I’m still trying to pinpoint exactly where I went wrong. Was it sneaking a peek at an episode of Goosebumps as a five-year-old? Or was it when eight-year-old me watched about half of a Chucky Movie, then lied about why I was scared? (I was constantly afraid one of my dolls was going to come to life to try to kill me. My mother had to force me to shower for probably two weeks because I was afraid Chucky would come after me in one of my most vulnerable moments.) I’m going with the latter.

Because of my ‘fraidy-cat tendencies, my favorite Halloween movies are more fun than they are scary. I like old horror movies I can poke fun at, stop-animation I can marvel at, a musical I can sing along with and/or a good story I can just sit back and enjoy. It also helps that I really, really like Tim Burton films (as you’ll notice on the list).

These are my favorite Halloween movies (in no particular order):

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
  2. Corpse Bride (2005)
  3. Edward Scissorhands (1990)
  4. Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)
  5. Hocus Pocus (1993)
  6. The Blob (1958)
  7. Interview with a Vampire (1994)
  8. Beetlejuice (1988)
  9. Frankenweenie (1984)
  10. The Addams Family (1991)

What are your favorite movies to watch for Halloween?

Let's discuss!

