The oven fries recipe I promised to share

I owe you a recipe, right? But I’m not such a huge fan of plain ol’ recipes with no description (and I just really love to tell stories), so you get a nice little chat to go with. You’re welcome.

Josh has been requesting homemade fries for a few weeks now. I guess it was about two weeks ago (maybe less) when I finally bought the potatoes (you should’ve seen me hauling them all around town; I was visiting my sister and bestie, who live 20 or more minutes away, when I bought them, but I digress), but they’ve sat idly in the pantry since.

Finally on Monday I, too, got the hankerin’ for some home-style fries (plus, I’d had a rough day and felt like I needed to get in the kitchen and get my mind off everything).

Last time I cooked homemade fries, I went with Garlic-Pesto Oven Fries (which, despite that I boiled them for too long, turned out pretty darn delicious). However, I just wasn’t in the mood for pesto. I wanted season-salted steak fries to go with the chicken nuggets I had in the freezer. So I used the pesto fry recipe as my base and modified it to fit my chicken-nug needs.

Okay, I’m done. You can have the recipe now.

Season-Salted No-Fry Steak Fries

Ingredients:

  • 5 large russet potatoes
  • olive oil
  • season salt

What to do:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. While the oven preheats, cut the potatoes into wedges (mine were about 1/4-inch thick, but I doubt it actually matters). Boil wedges for about 5 minutes or until they are just-pierce-able with a fork. (You don’t want them edible just yet!) Once you’ve finished boiling the potatoes, drain and rinse them with cold water. (The cold water is just to prevent burns; I actually forgot this step with my first batch of fries and had to use a spatula for the next step, which worked out just fine.) Transfer wedges to a large bowl and mix with about 2 TBSP of olive oil. Place wedges in a single layer on a very heavily greased cookie sheet (I covered my cookie sheet with aluminum foil first for easy cleanup). Make sure the wedges aren’t touching. Sprinkle with season salt and cook for 20-25 minutes (you’ll know they’re ready when the underside is golden-brown). Remove them from the oven, flip them and sprinkle the cooked side with season salt. Cook for another 15-20 minutes. Once they’ve finished, let them cool, then enjoy! Makes about 5-6 servings.

If you try this recipe, let me know what you think!

Let's discuss!

