Up For Discussion: Nighttime Movies and Television

Poor Josh. He’s had to endure countless hours of Seinfeld and American Dad in the past three weeks.

Remember how I told you I thought I had converted him to a Seinfeld almost-fan? Yeah, about that…

I get in these bedtime routines. They change every now and then. But right now, I watch Seinfeld or American Dad as I try to fall asleep. (We’re going to disregard that TV is counter-productive to actually going to sleep, kay?)

And Josh is such a champ about it. He’ll kindly suggest something–anything–different. But he loves his action-packed and suspenseful films. And me? Well, I like ’em too. Just not when I’m trying to sleep (they creep into my dreams; it’s so weird).

So around 3 a.m. this morning, when I just couldn’t sleep (and he happened to still be awake too), I told him to pick a movie. I was finally tired enough to pass out anyway, so I didn’t care what he put in the DVD player. I figured no matter what we watched, I’d still be able to sleep.

He watched Disturbia. Well, he only watched about 30 minutes before he turned it off to go to sleep. And this girl just laid there with her eyes closed.

I have no idea when I finally fell asleep, but I had weird dreams that may or may not have resulted from the movie. I’m telling you, my brain is so finicky when it comes to my trying to sleep.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone else has this problem. Do you watch TV before you go to sleep, and if so what sorts of things do you watch? How do you battle movies and shows slipping into your dreams (if that’s even an issue for you)? Seriously… I gotta know I’m not alone here!

2 responses to “Up For Discussion: Nighttime Movies and Television

  1. I try really hard not to do anything but maybe listen to music, on very low while I’m trying to fall asleep. I get way too distracted when I’m watching TV or movies so most of the time it all becomes counter-productive and I’m awake for the entire show or film.

    Lately I’ve been reading on my phone before bed, either my current book of choice or any article on Thought Catalog and of course catching up on Rachel Wilkerson’s blog.

    I, like you, have trouble with watching scary or suspenseful things before bed, not really for the dream interference but because I’ll lay there for hours , straining to hear intruders/ghost/demons coming to get me. It’s all part of my overly-paranoid personalty. So don’t feel bad you are not alone in these feelings. =]

  2. I think reading is a really good idea before bed. I should probably pick that up instead of watching TV.

Let's discuss!

