I believe in writing poetry

So here’s the dealeo: I haven’t touched a poem since May 3. And I’ll bet you wouldn’t guess I used to write them everyday (unless, of course, you knew me on Tumblr).

Inkstains & Heartbeats is a collective which includes a poem I wrote specifically for the book. (image via)

Just a few months ago, I was raving about how my most recent poetry project could easily turn into a book. But, like I said, I haven’t touched it since May 3, the night I turned in the completed project for my class.

I’ve been so focused on work and job-hunting and all things journalistic that I’ve almost forgotten what it’s like to write something that’s off-the-wall; to write something truthfully slant.

I noticed a friend mentioned via Facebook a piece of poetry he had written. He said it almost goes with Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata. I don’t know why, but that in particular made me miss the way poetry feels.

It also reminded me of something I wrote for an opinion-writing class last fall. We were looking at This I Believe and how people can passionately yet effectively write about their beliefs. Once we read a few, we wrote our own. I titled mine “I believe in writing poetry.” Here is an excerpt from the end of the piece:

I once heard a writer say that she is always writing, even when she isn’t writing. That is an amazing way to look at poetry. I like to think of it as a sort of song always playing in the writer’s head. Another writer, Susan Mitchell, wrote, “Do I live in order to write? Or do I write in order to live my life as I do?” I sometimes wonder the same thing. I often feel more that I write to live. Writing enhances my life. I can’t go a day without writing at least a piece of something, even if it is only one line. Poetry is my air.

I get so caught up in real life that I forget it’s okay to let my mind wander (beyond my weekly fun posts). I need poetry.

So here’s what I’m going to do: I’m going to not ignore my poems for months at a time. I’m thinking I can write at least a little something at least once a week, even if it’s just a haiku (though I won’t promise to share it here).

So there you have it–my (not-so) secret passion. Do you have any interesting hobbies that you’ve forgotten or lost time for? Tell me about them in the comments!

Let's discuss!

