Adventures of week one

Tomorrow will be exactly one week that Josh and I have lived in our apartment, and it has been one crazy week.

We didn’t have time to start unpacking until Thursday night, when my former roommates (so weird to call them that…) came over to see the new place, hang out, help unpack and borrow our washing machine. We were a little concerned about the drain hose not being secure, but we rigged it until we had time to buy clamps to hold it in place. My best friend threw some clothes in the washing machine, and we all sat in the living room to eat the cookie cake they brought over for my birthday (which was Thursday).

All of the sudden, we heard a whooshing sound. We ran to the washroom to find it was about 1/4-inch-deep in water, which was quickly moving into the kitchen and the hallway (the two areas closest to our laundry room). We grabbed all the towels we owned and began trying to soak the water with them. Almost immediately, we heard knocking at the door. It was our downstairs neighbor, who noticed our water in her apartment. Luckily, she was very nice about it (though I still feel like I should bring her some cookies or something to make up for the whole situation).

It took what seemed like forever, but Josh eventually got all the water out of the room. He soaked up the water with a towel, then ran it to the sink to ring out the water and do it all again. He’s a trooper.

By Saturday, when Josh’s family stopped by, all the water was gone and all the unpacking was finished. (Did I mention we unpacked everything in two days? I think we should get some sort of reward for that!) We had a great time with his family. Everything seemed perfect….

Until Saturday night. We had finally bought the clamps for the washing machine, and Josh was putting them in place. I went in the laundry room to move the laundry hamper out of the way and noticed something on the ground. I looked closer; it was a BLACK WIDOW!!! I, of course, freaked out (because it was a black-freaking-widow). I grabbed a shoe so I could squish it, but Josh wanted a closer look [which surprised me, given his phobia of spiders (thanks to this creepy thing)]. Instead of killing it, I gave Josh a jar to catch it in. We stared and took a few pictures, then Josh rolled the jar over it. A few legs detached from the spider, and one kept moving after it had left the spider; call it static all you want, but that thing was pure evil!

Since that incident, I’ve bought some Raid Max Bug Barrier in hopes of keeping all freaky creatures out of my apartment.

When I bought the bug spray, I was also finally able to buy another curtain for our bedroom. There are huge security lights all around our apartment complex, and it looks like daytime at night. Our bedroom window is larger than my last bedroom window, so the two curtains I owned weren’t enough to block all that light. We’ve been sleeping on an air mattress in the living room all week because it’s a little darker in there.

The problem with sleeping in the living room is that it’s right next to the kitchen, which contains our howling refrigerator. Seriously, it howls. It wasn’t so bad last week; it only made noise on occasion, which seemed fairly normal to me–or at least didn’t cause me to lose sleep. But by the time I started cooking dinner yesterday, it had begun making louder, stranger sounds. I swear it was playing music (it sounded like a saxophone). And as I tried to rest last night, I thought I was going crazy. I got maybe two hour of sleep because that thing sounded like a cat in heat. Josh has decided our apartment is haunted by ghost-cats. I’m glad he could find humor in the situation because he helped me calm down a lot (I’m telling you, the sound was driving me bananas).

Tonight I’ll finish lining the bottoms of our walls with the Bug Barrier and I’ll hang the curtains. Josh is going to call maintenance to try to quiet the fridge. Hopefully things will feel normal again by mid-week. I’m just really looking forward to some good-quality sleep in my bed.

3 responses to “Adventures of week one

  1. Ok, I know you did not write this for my benefits, but I enjoyed it all the same. It been a tough Monday so I needed a good laugh and to know that I’m not the only strange things happens too. If either of you need and help please let me know. Love you both!

  2. It looks like my grammar needs work too… LOL We will blame it on being Monday.

Let's discuss!

