My Lessons in Social Media

Social media has been on my mind a lot this week. My workplace is enforcing a new social media strategy, so my office life now revolves (more than ever before) around Twitter and Facebook. I’m also job hunting, mostly for work that involves Twitter and Facebook. That means I’m focusing on my own personal accounts as well. All this social media obsessing (and cleaning) has taught me a few things. And I’m going to share them with you.

  1. It’s about QUALITY, not QUANTITY. I don’t care if you have 5,000 tweets. If no one reads them, they don’t matter. Create things people will want to read instead of spamming them. Because spam is a wonderful way to lose followers.
  2. Don’t broadcast your entire life. This is a hard rule to follow. Unfortunately, I’ve fallen into this trap. But I promise you don’t want to become a victim of endlessly tweeting pure crap. It’s another great way to lose followers. Because, let’s be honest, no one cares what you ate for lunch today. (Unless, of course, you can link us to a fabulous recipe!)
  3. Don’t feed from a blog. It’s okay to do this as long as you also send personal tweets. Your followers want to know you’re on twitter. Who wants to follow a bunch of automated posts? Not this girl.
  4. In fact, don’t feed automated posts at all. Seriously, I mean it when I say your followers want to interact with a real human being. HootSuite is great if you know you’ll be unplugged for a few days (say, going on vacay), but don’t constantly rely on it. People will know you’re not there (they’ll see the little note that says from HootSuite or whatever) and they will proceed to click that unfollow button.

I know this stuff because I’ve been there. I’ve tried and failed and tried some more. I’m still figuring out what works and what doesn’t.

I’m currently cleaning my personal accounts. I want people to come to my Twitter page and want to follow me. I don’t want my friends and colleagues unfriending me because I spam them. Once upon a time, I streamed from my tumblr account–which, by the way, I spammed with a bunch of garbage about my life (see point #2)–and I’m quite positive I lost followers (go look to see what not to do). Today, I deleted some of those tweets. I went from nearly 5,000 tweets to closer to 3,000 (and I’m still in the process of deleting!)

I promise, 5,000 tweets and only 79 followers does not look good. I’d rather see those numbers flip.

Comment to let me know if this helps or if I’ve left out any important points. In the meantime, check out this post from the Oatmeal about how to get more Facebook likes.

One response to “My Lessons in Social Media

  1. You “AR” wise. 🙂 I’m still blowing automated tweets out from my blogs. Why? I don’t have the time to hand feed and make a lot of personal contact. I agree and I disagree only because I don’t have the time to personalize every tweet or blog post to Facebook.

    TOTALLY agree with the quality and not quantity. You can burn yourself out in a New York minute blogging and working as hard as I did. I think it is a true testement to picking your battles with yourself and I am of the opinion that quality will always win.

Let's discuss!

