My need for food revival

Today, I realized it is time for a diet change.

No, not a diet. A diet change.

I’m bored with food. I eat the same things again and again, and it has begun to ruin my relationship with food.

I don’t have time to cook, so I  rarely cook. When I do, it’s grilled chicken or fish. I was totally in love with grilled chicken and fish six months ago. Now, I practically shove it down my own throat to make myself eat it. I don’t even really enjoy being in the kitchen anymore. That is a depressing thought.

For lunch, I usually grab Subway, Boar’s Head or Chick-Fil-A on campus before hopping a bus (where I eat my lunch) to my car so I can go to work.

I may have left out something important: I don’t eat pork or red meat; if it oinks or moos, I won’t eat it. My family tree is full of heart disease, and I’m doing my best to avoid it. For me, avoiding a future of hypertension and heart surgery means I cut out foods high in fat and sodium. I call myself a pescepoultritarian (I keep waiting to bring it up in conversation, but no one asks) because people kept asking if I was vegetarian (even though they don’t anymore). I try not to be mean when I point out that I do, in fact, eat meat.

Anyway, the point of all of this is that tonight I had an AHA! moment. I’ve been super-drained of energy lately, and I can’t figure out why. I blame too little sleep or too much sleep, too little exercise or too much activity, or even a lack of iron or B12. I’ve remedied all of these, and nothing really changes.

But tonight I read Rachel Wilkerson’s post about her new juicer. And when I read The first time I did a cleanse, I had so much energy, I painted my apartment by myself,” a little light bulb came up above my head. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not going out to buy a juicer (I’m a broke college student… I couldn’t if I wanted to). I’m not even really thinking of cleansing. I’m thinking revival. Food revival.

Just reading that one sentence made me remember how great I felt when I changed the way I ate two years ago. I felt great, was full of energy, cooked frequently and loved the way I saw food differently. I want that again.

I’ve considered vegetarianism, but I’m not sure. I do enjoy my poultry, and I really love seafood. And I also think it would mess up my homemade frozen meal recipes. But my roommate has been a vegetarian for nearly two months and it seems to be working for her. I’ve heard about Meatless Mondays and thought about it, but I’m not sure if that’s a big enough difference.

I have no idea what I should do. Any ideas?

Let's discuss!

