Remember, Reflect, and Live

It’s hard to imagine that 10 years ago I watched in horrifying confusion as smoke billowed from that first tower in New York. I had no idea what was happening or what it meant. A few moments passed, and as our little eyeballs kept staring at the screen, trying to comprehend, another plane came into view. More smoke followed. The camera showed us that New York’s sky was black that day.

Now I’ll be honest; I didn’t know what I had just seen. When I walked in to the classroom and saw what I saw on the television screen, I thought it was the beginning of a history lesson–some incident of the past. But I quickly realized I was wrong. And my 11-year-old brain couldn’t comprehend why anyone would be so mean and so evil that they would want to kill themselves and so many others just to scare us. I simply could not wrap my brain around it.

But today is not the day to reflect on the motives of the people who hurt our country. Instead, I’d like to take time to appreciate and thank, first of all, the soldiers who put their lives in danger every day in order to keep our country safe. And today I’ll remember the people who lost their lives, either on this day 10 years ago or as a result of the events that took place. And, finally, I’ll thank God for everything I have today–my life, my friends, my family, my education. I feel incredibly blessed.

So I’ll reflect and remember, and then I’ll go on with my day. Sounds awful, I know, but I don’t want to flood my friends’ news feeds with sad thoughts about today. Blogger Katja Presnal posted a great reminder this morning on her Facebook page:

“As much horror as today’s date includes, it’s also somebody’s birthday, or wedding anniversary and babies are born today. Appreciate what you have. Hug your children. Spend time with you family. LIVE.”

So once you’ve taken time to thank a soldier and honor those who have passed, take the rest of your day to just live.

Let's discuss!

