One-Banana Muffins

IMG_3841

Every time Josh and I buy bananas, they always start to over-ripen before we can eat them all. It doesn’t matter if we buy 10 or three, it always happens.

And I guess it doesn’t help that I’ll only eat a banana if it’s at least a little green. I probably get that from my dad. He and I both say a ripe banana is only good for making banana bread.

IMG_3844But, that darn one-banana dilemma hinders making a whole loaf of banana bread. I’m telling you, this happens… Every. Single. Time.

Well, a couple of weeks ago, Josh bought some bananas for us, and by the end of last week, we were left with one over-ripe banana. So, instead of throwing it away, I waited for it to turn black (black bananas make the best banana bread) and I came up with a solution…

One-banana muffins. The recipe only makes a handful of these muffins, but I think that’s kind of perfect. I never like having too many muffins (or any other kind of baked good) at home because if I can’t give away at least half,  I almost always end up throwing some away.

Oh, and maybe don’t be a goof like me — I forgot to add pecans to my muffins. Good grief.

IMG_3836 squareOne-Banana Muffins

Active Time: 10 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes
Yields: 6 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 over-ripe banana
  • 1/8 cup chopped pecans (optional)

What to do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line half of a 12-muffin tin with baking cups.

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

The next few steps can be done using a standalone mixer or a handheld mixer. In a medium- to large-bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add the egg and banana, and mix until well-combined. Mix in half of the flour mixture and combine, then add in the other half of the flour mixture and combine. The result should be a doughy mixture.

IMG_3838Add pecans, if desired, and mix one more time until the pecans are evenly distributed throughout the dough.

Place the dough into the six baking cups, dividing the dough evenly. Bake for 30 minutes or until muffins are golden-brown and cooked through. (Test this by sticking a toothpick into the center of a muffin. If it comes out clean, it’s cooked through.)

Allow muffins to cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

Note: This recipe was inspired by Banana Banana Bread from Allrecipes.com.

One response to “One-Banana Muffins

  1. This is the perfect size recipe. I’m guilty of adding chocolate chips to make up for that second banana i don’t have. :)

Let's discuss!

