Weekending 01.07.2013

fishThis weekend, I dove head-first into my meal plans. I only planned five meals, and I’ve already cooked nearly half of them (I would have cooked more, but I didn’t have all the ingredients for smoky black bean soup… ugh).

Friday night, Josh and I tag-teamed preparing the crispy fish sandwiches. We loved them so much, that we made them again last night! (This is likely to happen at least one more time this week). I think Josh was pretty stoked about the homemade fries too. Anyway, this sandwich is quick and easy to make (once I’d prepared my homemade Panko breadcrumbs–not necessary, by the way; you can buy them pre-made if you prefer–the whole process took less than 20 minutes). Somehow they managed to taste fried and fresh at the same time. I’m not really sure how that happened, but I liked it. I definitely recommend.

Saturday night, I made chxpotpieindividual chicken pot pies. These were awesome because 1) I got to use the ramekin dishes my mom gave me for Christmas and 2) I have lots of ideas floating in my head to make this recipe my own. I’m pumped to try this again so I can put those ideas to use.

(Side note: the photos I took this weekend made me feel like I missed my calling as a food photographer. I know there are folks who are waaayyyyy better at this than I am, but I still couldn’t help but admire my work. Not kidding–I was still looking at those pictures at 2 o’clock this morning. I think there’s something wrong with me.)

falloutIn other news, I got the Fallout game I’ve been wanting. I was still kind of mopey about how I wasn’t able to buy it at Target last week, but Josh drove me to Gamestop in the gross, rainy weather to check their prices. I got the game for $10 less than I originally planned to pay at Target! And I love it! Lesson of the weekend: be patient.

Also, Josh and I went to the movies to see The Hobbit with Hilary and her boyfriend yesterday, which left me wishing I had re-read the book before now. Seriously, I haven’t read it since I was 11 years old, so I don’t remember much about it. And most of the fun of watching a book-turned-movie is comparing to see how closely the movie was actually based on the book, amiright?

And I spent most of yesterday morning/last night switching between reading How to Be a Woman and the articles and blog posts listed here.

Anyway, that’s just about it for my weekend. (Though it still kind of feels like a weekend, thanks to the BCS championship game tonight–can I get a Roll Tide?)

What have you been up to since Friday?

Let's discuss!

