You’re invited: Halloween dance party

I know I said Halloween isn’t my thing, but I’m sure you’ll also remember that I said I’ve tried. Yeah, I wasn’t kidding.

Since this is the first year Josh and I have shared an apartment, I thought it would be fun if we threw a Halloween party together. We’d decorate the apartment and have our friends come over (in their costumes, of course) and enjoy some finger foods and fun Halloweeny music. Of course, my delusional self thought I could do all this for cheap. Like, recent-college-grad-still-job-hunting cheap.

Since food and decorations can get pretty pricey–and since we didn’t know Josh’s work schedule until this week–the idea of throwing a Halloween party fell through. But that didn’t stop me from virtually planning.

Although nothing else worked out, I did get one thing right: the music. After some brief research of the best Halloween music and some collaboration with Josh, I created an online playlist. And don’t think I haven’t jammed out to it every day.

Now you can join me. Find these songs and dance your little heart out this month of Halloween:

  1. Time Warp (from Rocky Horror Picture Show)
  2. The Headless Horseman (by Bing Crosby)
  3. Love Potion No. 9 (by The Searchers)
  4. Werewolf (by the Frantics)
  5. This is Halloween (your choice: from Nightmare Before Christmas; or by Marylin Manson)
  6. Monster Mash (by Bobby “Boris” Pickett & the Crypt Kickers)
  7. Ghost Riders in the Sky (by Johhny Cash & Willie Nelson)
  8. Jump in the Line (by Harry Belafonte)
  9. Rock Lobster (by The B-52s)
  10. Ghostbusters Theme (by Ray Parker Jr.)
  11. I Put a Spell on You (your choice: from Hocus Pocus version; or by Screamin’ Jay Hawkins)
  12. Thriller (by Michael Jackson)
  13. Remains of the Day (from Corpse Bride)
  14. Dinner with Drac: Part 1 (by John Zacherle)
  15. Superstition (by Stevie Wonders)
  16. Howlin’ for You (by the Black Keys)
  17. Halloween (by Bing Crosby)
  18. Castin’ My Spell (by Marci Lee & Johnny Otis)
  19. What’s a Girl to Do (by Bat for Lashes)
  20. Bad Things (by Cults)
  21. Grim, Grinning Ghosts (from Disney)
  22. Moanin’ at Midnight (by Howlin’ Wolf)
  23. Zombie Jamboree (by Harry Belafonte)
  24. Psycho Killer (by Talking Heads)
  25. Zombie Dance (by The Cramps)
  26. Riboflavin (45 Grave)
  27. Little Demon (by Screamin’ Jay Hawkins)
  28. Sympathy for the Devil (by The Rolling Stones)
  29. Helter Skelter (by The Beatles; though the Across the Universe version is pretty good too)
  30. Little Drop of Poison (by Tom Waits)
  31. Toccata and Fugue in D Minor (by Johann Sebastian Bach)
  32. My Body’s a Zombie for You (by Dead Man’s Bones)
  33. Iron Man (by Black Sabbath)
  34. Devil Went Down to Georgia (by The Charlie Daniels Band)
  35. I See Hell in Your Eyes (from Queen of the Damned)
  36. Monster (by Kanye West, feat. Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nickki Minaj & Bon Iver)
  37. I’m Your Boogie Man (by White Zombie)
  38. Howlin’ for My Baby (by Howlin’ Wolf)
  39. Bad Moon Risin’ (by Creedance Clearwater Revival)
  40. Addams Family (from The Addams Family)
  41. Phantom of the Opera (your choice: from Phantom of the Opera; or by Nightwish)
  42. There’s a Nightmare on My Street (byDJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince)
  43. Welcome to My Nightmare (by Alice Cooper)
  44. Werewolves of London (by Warren Zevon)
  45. Sweet Dreams (by Marilyn Manson)
  46. Hurt (by Johnny Cash)
  47. Boogie Nights (by Earth, Wind & Fire)
  48. The Raven (by Alan Parsons Project)
  49. Whistlin’ Past the Graveyard (by Tom Waits)
  50. The Struggle (by 30 Seconds to Mars)

2 responses to “You’re invited: Halloween dance party

  1. What about:
    Godzilla (by Blue Oyster Cult)
    Welcome To My Nightmare (by Alice Cooper)
    Purple People Eater (by Sheb Wooley)
    Hell’s Bells (by AC/DC)
    Scary Monsters (by David Bowie)
    Runnin’ With The Devil (by Van Halen)
    Witchy Woman (by The Eagles)
    Spiders and Snakes (by Jim Stafford)
    Don’t Fear The Reaper (by Blue Oyster Cult)
    Highway To Hell (by AC/DC)
    Bark At The Moon (by Ozzy Osbourne)
    Somebody’s Watching Me (by Rockwell)
    Misguided Ghosts (by Paramore)
    The Legend of Wooley Swamp (by Charlie Daniels Band)
    Tubular Bells [from The Exorcist] (by Mike Oldfield)
    Swamp Witch (by Jim Stafford)
    Black Magic Woman (by Santana)
    Barracuda (by Heart)
    Frankenstein (by Edgar Winter Group)
    I Put a Spell On You (by Creedence Clearwater Revival)
    Creatures of the Night (by KISS)
    Hungry Like The Wolf (by Duran Duran)
    Devil Inside (by INXS)
    Gallows Pole (by Led Zeppelin)
    Voodoo Child (by Jimi Hendrix)

    • Ooh! I’ll have to add those to my playlist tonight. How did I not think of Hungry Like The Wolf? Or Highway To Hell? Or Hell’s Bells? Or, most importantly, Purple People Eater?!? Also, I didn’t know Creedence Clearwater Revival recorded I Put A Spell On You. Very cool. Oh, and I just thought of Bat Out Of Hell by Meat Loaf.

Let's discuss!

