Five pumpkin recipes you need to try this fall

Today, the air is crisp and cool in Alabama. It looks like we’re finally getting our fall (even if it is short-lived). With cool weather comes fall recipes: soups, pies, warm drinks and, best of all, pumpkin.

I love anything pumpkin. Heck, I’d even eat it raw or straight out of the can if I knew Josh wouldn’t give me sideways looks about it.

So instead of eating spoonfuls of pumkin all by my lonesome, I’ve decided to share with you my top five favorite pumpkin recipes. Seriously, you need to try these:

  1. Pumpkin Chili. I know, I know, it sounds totally weird. But it’s been a staple for my fall menu since 2010, when Rachel Wilkerson posted it to her blog. Make it. I swear you’ll be in love.
  2. Savory Pumpkin Ravioli. Okay, I’ll be honest, I’ve never actually made this. But I have had pumpkin ravioli before, and I must say it was ballin’. I’ve wanted to recreate it since, but just haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe now is my chance (though I’m diggin’ a red sauce more than the creamy sauce pictured).
  3. Pumpkin Muffins. The recipe is simple: one box of spice cake and one can of pumpkin puree. Combine the two and bake at 350 for 20 minutes. My best friend made this recipe by modifying it from this pumkin cookie recipe.
  4. Garlic Pumpkin Seeds. Admittedly, this is another recipe I haven’t actually tried. And I guess this one’s not so much about the pumpkin as it is the seeds. However, pumpkin seeds are the bomb, and I love garlic (poor Josh had to smell it on me for two days this weekend–that’s how much I love garlic), so I don’t see how this recipe could go wrong. And the ingredients list is only five items long! Can’t beat that for a quick, easy and tasty treat.
  5. Libby’s Pumpkin Bread. For this last recipe, I’m going to let you cheat. We’re bringing a pre-portioned kit in to do all the hard work. Just buy a Libby’s Pumkin Bread Kit and follow the directions on the box. Simple, yet delicious. (It’s what I use every year.) Don’t even bother with the icing. This bread is yummy without it!

So I guess I haven’t made as many pumpkin recipes as I thought I had, but there are plenty I want to try. I’ll keep you updated when I finally test out the ravioli and those pumpkin seeds. (Or, if you try them first, let me know what you think!)

For more pumpkin recipe ideas (and other fall recipes), visit my “Fall Recipes” pin board.

One response to “Five pumpkin recipes you need to try this fall

  1. I totally need to get to the store to buy some pumpkin!!!

Let's discuss!

