About those smoothies…

Friday I promised you more info about the smoothies I’ve been making. The thing is, I get into a breakfast routine and continue eating the exact same thing until I’ve pretty much killed it. (I’ve slowed down on the smoothies so hopefully this won’t happen.)

So, when I figured out what I liked in my smoothie on Monday, I just stuck with it until I ran out of the fruits I was using. Then I came up with another blend.

And, of course, I’m going to share them with you:

Tropical Banana-Berry Blend:

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup milk (I use almond milk to cut down on the dairy)
  • 1/2 cup plain, nonfat yogurt
  • 1 cup fruit mix (I used a frozen banana-strawberry-pineapple mix)
  • 1 cup ice
  • 1/2 tsp. honey

Just dump it all in a blender, secure the lid and blend for about a minute or until well-blended. If you measure everything but the ice the night before and leave it in the refrigerator, this will only take a couple of minutes to prepare as part of your breakfast. Since there isn’t much protein in this smoothie, I also ate a protein bar. The combo kept me full for 4-5 hours!
Servings: 1

Cirtrus-Berry Blend (pictured):

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup milk (I use almond milk to cut down on the dairy)
  • 1/2 cup plain, nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup berry mix (I used a frozen mix of strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and pomegranate seeds)
  • 1 cup ice

The same goes for this one: Put all ingredients in a blender,  secure the lid and blend for about a minute or until well-blended. Also, notice that there isn’t any additional sweetener (like honey) in this recipe. That’s because I think the orange juice is sweet enough to compensate (plus, it already has A LOT of sugar!)
Servings: 1.5

If you try either of these, let me know what you think! Give me some pointers and share your own recipes!

One response to “About those smoothies…

  1. You can tweak this smoothie recipe further by adding ground flax or sesame seeds , protein powder or simply experiment with different fruits and vegetables until you find the combination that is right for you and your tastes.

Let's discuss!

