I need my best friend

It turns out not living with your best friend can result in not ever really seeing your best friend. Go figure.

I guess that’s what made today so special. I had lunch with my bestie, Hilary, this afternoon. On the river, at that. It was lovely.

However, it was the first time I’d seen her in probably two weeks (maybe a little less; my days have been running together lately). Not cool. Not cool at all.

It really sucks because on top of rarely seeing her, we rarely get to talk anymore. Our schedules are so conflicting, it’s hard to find two seconds for each other. I work days; she works nights. I’m off on weekends; she is definitely not.

I realized as we talked at lunch that there were too many things we hadn’t told each other over the past week or so. I found it pretty ridiculous, to be honest. It felt like we needed to spend an entire day together to really get back on track.

Unfortunately, that’s just not possible at the moment.

So what’s a girl to do? I need my best friend!

One solution I’ve found is the 5-minute convo (and, gosh, I wish I could find that link; I have no clue where I read it). Essentially, you call each other multiple times each week and talk for about five minutes each time rather than making long calls once a week or so. It could work. Maybe.

Yeah… probably not. There’s no way she and I could talk for only five minutes. Not a chance.

Anyway, I’m still working on a solution to this problem. I’m sure Hilary and I will have to discuss and decide what works best for us. And definitely plan a girl date when we have time. Gosh, we need it! (Well, at least I do.)

In the meantime, I’d love some suggestions. What do you do to maintain relationships with friends you don’t see often?

(The photo of our lunchtime view of the river I totally stole from Hilary’s Facebook. So, yeah…)

Let's discuss!

