The big move (even if it isn’t the first, second or third)

I went to work today, after my three-day weekend, feeling exhausted. And I doubt that will go away anytime soon. My weekend was a whirlwind, and it hasn’t stopped yet.

I’m preparing to move. It’s a big step for me. It’ll be the first time since I officially moved out of my mom’s house that I won’t be living with my best friend anymore. It’ll also be the first time I’ve lived with my boyfriend (or any boy, for that matter). So, yeah, it’s kind of a big deal.

The only problem is I don’t know where to. The bigger problem: I have to move out of my current apartment in 23 days.

So I took time off work on Friday to apartment shop.

I was totally prepared. I made a list of my top eight places. Then I made forms for each place so Josh and I could evaluate which would be best for us. Then I listened to Josh laugh and call me a “pencil-pusher” a few times before joining me in the search.

The forms were pretty helpful, I think. We discovered four of the apartments were out of our price range and, if I remember correctly, one of those didn’t even have washer and dryer hookups. So by Friday morning, we had narrowed our list of places to visit to four.

As we looked, our list became even smaller. One of the places we wanted only had three-bedroom apartments available–for $200 each month above our price limit. So we moved on to the next one. Our next choice had nothing available. The woman in the front office told us we could come back next week to put our names on a waiting list so we might be in an apartment in a year. So we moved on again.

There are now two places we are considering. One in particular is our favorite, but we have to wait to find out if we will be able to move in. I hate playing the waiting game, but I think this apartment is worth it.

Until then, I just need to focus on packing.

Let's discuss!

