My Summer Reading List

Last week, I shared some of the blogs I’ve been reading and some of the games I’ve been playing (among other things). Today, I’ll share some more reads. But these are the kind you can hold in your hand and open and flip through to catch a whiff of the pages (please tell me I’m not the only one in love with that new book smell).

20120531-124458.jpg

I’m assuming by now you’ve realized I’ve got books on the brain. I’ve never really been into seasonal reading lists, but I guess I’m just feeling something a little different this summer. I started thinking about a summer reading list a few days ago when Scholastic posted a link via Facebook to a humongo list of books to read in Summer 2012 (darn me for not saving that link; I haven’t been able to find it since). Let me tell you, it was massive. Like, 300+ books massive. No worries, though. I promise you, you will not have to trudge through 300 titles to finish reading my list.

20120531-124626.jpg

So while I was thinking about my summer reading list, I came across a Facebook post from my step mom. She’s taking my nephews book shopping today and asked for some suggestions. It’s been a hot minute since I’ve thought about what 6th graders like to read, so I hit up Read Kiddo Read, and alas!–a summer reading list organized according to age groups. As I reminisced about my favorite childhood reads, a few new series caught my eye. Although I haven’t needed to touch a 6th grade level book in more than 10 years, I’m thinking I may have to revisit my childhood this summer with a few kids’ books sprinkled into my list.

My list will include books I’ve started but never finished, books I’ve been dying to begin and books I simply want to re-read.

So, without further ado, here is my summer reading list:

[DISCLAIMER: This is not to say I will read all of these books. If you know me personally, don’t judge me for having a list larger than I can accomplish; you know I can’t help myself. If you don’t know me, this might be a good time to point out that I take an obnoxious amount of time to finish leisure reading of any kind.)

Of course, I’m sure there will be others–I always want more books–but I’m trying to pretend to have an accomplishable list. For more updates on books I’m into and other book-related things, check out my pinboard dedicated to all things bookly!

20120531-122846.jpg

What books are you reading this summer? Do you make seasonal reading lists? If you have any suggestions for books you think I should read, let me know in the comments!

One response to “My Summer Reading List

  1. Let’s see if THIS attempt to comment will work.

    I’m reading “Ladykiller” by Donna Fielder (http://amzn.to/Lai01M). Donna mentions my cousin in the last chapter, quotes her, but doesn’t give her name. THAT is kinda lame. I thought if you quoted someone you were to give their name! At any rate, I purchased the book for the story. It is a true story but told in a way that is disappointing. Donna tells the story of how she did research and got the murder case reopened but then when the story evolves to the trial, she repeats herself verbatim. When all is said and done, I feel like I have read the book 2x before I get to the last chapter. Please don’t ever write like that. It comes across as just word stuffing to make the page count grow! :(

Let's discuss!

